top of page

DIY Organizing Containers


I think we could all agree that it's nice to have things organized. However, there are two problems I face when I'm trying to get organized: (1) time! I never have the time to just organize, and (2) it can get exepensive! buying those containers for organizing really adds up fast. Since my personal new years resolution is to get more organized, I have been spending a little more time organizing when I get the chance. I have found a couple ways to help get past those two obstacles, and I'm going to help you with obstacle #2 today! (#1 will be coming in the near future!)

You might be thinking how is it even possible to organize without spending a ton of money on those expensive containers??? If so, stick around for the rest of this blog post and I will show you that it is, indeed, possible.

CANDLE HOLDERS/JARS

When you've burned to the bottom of your candles what do you do with the glass holder it's in? Please do not tell me you trash them!! I am telling you guys, do not throw them away! These are my abesolute favorite way to organize; there is so much you can use them for.

But, wait a second, how in the world do you get ALL that wax out of the bottom of the jar and the black from the top of the jar?? Guys, this is seriously way easier than I thought it would be. All you do is boil enough water to fill each of the jars you have, and pour it in each one after it is to the boiling point. Leave the water in there until it has cooled down. The wax should just float to the top, but if not just wipe it out with a towel. Once I got all the wax out, I put them in the dishwasher. When the dishwasher was done they were completely cleaned out.

Okay you have that finished, now what? These seriously can work for so many different things depending on the size of the jar. I have some on my bathroom counter. One has hair bands in it, one has bobby pins in it, and the other one has q-tips in it. They could also be used as a pencil holder, or a make up brush holder. You could also put office supplies in them like paper clips, stamps, pushpins, etc.

COST: $30

If you already have empty candle holders it's free. But, techinically you've bought a candle, so it's whatever the candle costed. The candles I used were $15 (the large one), $10 (the medium one), and $5 for the smallest. In total $30 for the three. Which seems expensive, but it really seemed like it was free because the jars had just been sitting in our linen closet. (Also, you can find cheaper candles if you don't have any sitting around. Mine were purchased at target)


bottom of page